Since its invention social media has changed the world. Never before have so many people been connected online simultaneously. The barrier of distance has virtually been eliminated as people can connect with each other instantly all over the world. Along with the rest of the world I have hopped on the bandwagon and have Facebook and twitter. I don’t consider myself much of a social media junkie, however I do find myself checking twitter on a regular basis. Mainly because I can do so on my phone anytime, anyplace. Although I belong to social media sites and use them regularly I decide not to share much information about my self online. I’m sure we all have those friends who think its their social media duty to share their life and what their doing/eating with all of their friends… As the article cyberspace and identity examines, while interacting online people form their own cyber identity. This identity can be much different than their real world identity, as ones cyber identity is based solely on what that person chooses to share with others. I choose to only post information online very occasionally and not to share much information. When deciding to post online I ensure I am not giving people too much personal information.

The article Online Social Networking as Participatory Surveillance talked about how social networking is a snoops dream. People are voluntarily giving personally information online thus making it extremely easy for others to track or “snoop” around your personal life. Not only are you providing that information to others but the government has also began to place surveillance on social media, primarily after the September 11th terrorist attack. This is another reason I choose not to share personal information online, as although I understand why the government should monitor social networking as it is a very effective safety measure, I personally do not feel comfortable sharing much personal information with the world. Along with the government, social media has also provided a wonderful platform for identity thief’s and other scam artists. Identity theft can ruin people’s lives and providing personal information online allows theirs to easily obtain information needed.

The last reading I would like to touch on is the ted talk by Sherry Turkle titled please we don’t want to go. I couldn’t help but laugh reading the article as I couldn’t agree more with her. She mentions how situations that used to seem odd such as texting in class or a boardroom or even a funeral now seem familiar and normal. Additionally the article mentions how people talk about the new skill of learning to text someone while making eye contact with another which is difficult, but can be done. This was my favourite part is I consider myself a master of this new “skill”. I’m not sure whether that’s a good thing or a bad thing but reading about it in the article made me laugh.

 Cyberspace and Identity Sherry Turkle Contemporary Sociology Vol. 28, No. 6 (Nov., 1999), pp. 643-648

http://www.jstor.org.proxy.library.brocku.ca/stable/pdfplus/2655534.pdf?acceptTC=true

 Albrechtslund, A. (2008) “Online Social Networking as Participatory Surveillance.” First Monday. 13,3

Places we don’t want to go: Sherry Turkle at TED2012
http://blog.ted.com/2012/03/01/places-we-dont-want-to-go-sherry-turkle-at-ted2012/

Image

